Tanking Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Phalanx, Jul 20, 2013.

1. Phalanx

Phalanx New Member

First off, hello everyone I am new to FFxiv. I haven't even played the beta yet but am looking forward to playing Phase 4 and the game on release date. I have been browsing these forums tho and would like some insight on which type of tank I should use. I have tanked in the mmo DC Universe so I'm familiar with the concept of tanking. As for this game I'm wondering which would be best to use between the GLD, PLD, WAR, or MRD. I intend to level each but then sink all my time into mastering which ever is most sought after by the community as far as raids. So is everyone looking for a single target tank or mobbing tank? And which of these classes is best suited for each? I want to be the best tank I can be while still ensuring I have a place in raids. Any info is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance
  2. Phalanx

Phalanx New Member

Yea I've been looking forward to playing a PLD but then I seen a few posts about ppl preferring the WAR/MRD because of the dmg it's capable of, I'm not really trying to lose my spot in a raid whenever a equally skilled WAR/MRD comes along.
  3. seriousry

seriousry Active Member

in a challenging raid with more than one enemy I'd imagine a good setup would have both WAR and PLD
  4. Orien

Orien Well Known Member

Neither one is going to be inherently better than the other. Pick the one you enjoy the play style of the most and go with it. Both can generate AoE threat and both can sustain ST threat. PLD is a bit more "turtley" and as you have already found out WAR is better offensively.
    Zoot and Clonk like this.
  5. Phalanx

Phalanx New Member