Hi

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Lightcloud69, Dec 29, 2015.

1. Lightcloud69

Lightcloud69 New Member

Server:
    Jenova
    Hello all, I'm somewhat new to the game. I'm a level 32 pld and I've been playing on and off for the last couple of months on the Jenova server. Pretty much been soloing the whole time. I would be lying if I said I wasn't confused by many of the games mechanics such as the materia stuff and effective tanking.

contramundum159 and GeekMatt like this.
  2. praysolace

praysolace Warrior of Light

Server:
    Brynhildr
    Hello and welcome! We'll do our best to help with your questions :3

Materia
    There's a quest in the north of Central Thanalan to unlock materia conversion. Once you've completed it, any piece of gear you've 100% spiritbonded (you can see a piece's spiritbond status in its pop-up window) can be converted into a somewhat random piece of materia. (Types and levels of gear correspond only to certain types and levels of materia, but within their sets what exactly you get is randomized.)

Besides being salable on the market board as well as to NPC vendors (in the case of very low-value materia), affixing materia to a piece of gear makes it spiritbond faster. When people used to do spiritbonding parties in Urth's Fount with high-level gear, they'd affix cheap materia to spiritbond them faster and get higher-level materia out of their gear.

Some high-level materias are desirable for melding into endgame gear. Generally speaking, this is crafted endgame gear, but I heard tell they were going to add materia slots to endgame gear bought with tomes. Well, don't worry about that yet. There's no point melding materia into your gear for stats just yet; you'll outgrow it too quickly. Most folks don't even bother at endgame, honestly.

Tanking
    Full disclosure: I'm a Warrior. I have a Paladin at 50 but I didn't use it much and didn't like it much.