Dungeons & Dragons

Discussion in 'Other Games' started by Jinzuku, Apr 8, 2017.

1. Jinzuku

Jinzuku Vice Administrator

Top Poster Of Month

Server:
    Phoenix
    For a long time me and my mates have wanted to get into D&D but we never had a DM and none of us had any experience being one. So I thought I would take the bullet and become our DM.

I've never done anything like this before but think it'll be fun. I've play the odd D&D session but was never heavily playing due to a lack of people to play with. Luckily I watch a D&D podcast so I am fairly familiar with the rules and how to play.

Being a DM is scary though, just the idea that you are in charge of the fun of everyone involved by making an interesting campaign. We haven't actually started yet due to us waiting for one of the players finishing his education in a few weeks. I've done my best to plan an overall setting but trying to not plan too much as there is no way in knowing what they will do once they start.

Was has been your experience with D&D? Been or known a really good DM?

2. Fybrile

Fybrile Administrator

Server:
    Tonberry
    Here's some random suggestions.

Know the rules inside and out, or at least well enough to be able to fake a rule up on the spot, because learning the game is a lot more fun playing it than reading about it for half a session.

Reaction > Preparation

Don't prepare a campaign or quest you really like. That often leads you to railroading your players. And, even if it doesn't, it can seem that the players are living out your story, rather than building their own.

A simple seed of intrigue, or hook, at the beginning of a session is usually enough for the players to create their own story around.

The first rule for ad lib also applies: "Yes, and..."