Tank Cross Class Skills for Tanking Really Needed?

Discussion in 'Disciples of War' started by Valkar, Aug 20, 2016.

1. Valkar

Valkar New Member

Server:
    Odin
    Hi Guys

I'm new to the game and I'm really enjoying it and I've decided to play a paladin. So far I'm level 22 gladiator and Ive been reading that whilst I need to become a conjurer to lv 15, to get the useful conjurer skills I'll need to level it to a higher level.

So my question is are the cross class skulls really needed?. I really don't like playing casters and to be honest as much as I love the game so far I'm a bit annoyed that I'm forced to play other classes. So to be an effective paladin tank is level 15 conjurer the minimum I can get away with? Or do I need to grit my teeth and level the caster to a higher level for those cross class skills?

2. GeekMatt

GeekMatt Moderator

Server:
    Brynhildr
    PLD can get away with CNJ level 15 no problem. The only VITAL crossclass tank skills come from Gladiator, so if you decide to do another tank later on, you'll be all set.

PLD also gets crossclass skills from Marauder, and I'd recommend picking up Foresight which is only level 2 or 5 or something, but other than that PLD makes little use of crossclass skills, and anything you're lacking won't be noticeable or have an impact on the instances you run 99% of the time. The only time I'd say it's important to have the full-range of crossclass skills is if you intend to do the most current hardcore top-tier raiding, and that's because you should be aiming to play at 110% at that point, but the skills still aren't necessary.

^ this set of guidelines only applies to PLD. Pretty much every other job in the game is really nerfed by not getting at least one or two particular crossclass skills.

3. Valkar

Valkar New Member

Server:
    Odin
    Hi Geekmat

Ok thanks for that, that's kinda good news that I just need the minimum.