Arcanist Aetherflow and Energy Drain - Explanation Needed

Discussion in 'Disciples of Magic' started by Nichigo, Aug 28, 2013.

1. Nichigo

Nichigo Content Moderator Content Moderator

So this has bugged me since I started playing ACN:

Aetherflow
    Duration: Infinite

Energy Drain
    Can only use under effect of Aetherflow

Why can I only use Energy Drain once per Aetherflow activation if it's effect is "infinite"?
  2. Ryouzanpaku

Ryouzanpaku Member

ED consumes it
  3. Nichigo

Yeah i figured that but wasn't sure because nothing in either descriptions says that explicitly OR implicitly lol.

I only realized that was the actual case when I got Aetherflow II and saw that I could now use Energy Drain twice.

Definitely needs a clearer description.
  4. ShinSuta

ShinSuta Member

I think it's already pretty clear when you look in detail.

You have Aetherflow, which gives you 20% of your mana when you use it. Just that.
    Then, you have Aetherdam I, II, III (the traits). Those traits give you a buff when you use Aetherflow, each rank give you one stack of the buff "Aetherflow". This is what is consumed when you use Energy Drain (or later spells). And until you consume it, dispell it, or change class, the buff duration is infinite.

In other words :
    You have Aetherdam I, using Aetherflow gives you 1 stack, you can use ED once.
    You have Aetherdam II, using Aetherflow gives you 2 stacks, you can use ED twice.
    You have Aetherdam III, using Aetherflow gives you 3 stacks, you can use ED three times.
  5. Nichigo

Yeah, I get that. The thing is...NOTHING says that ED consumes anything. It just says "you need to be under the effect of Aetherflow to use"...that in no way implies that it actually consumes the Aetherflow.

It's not clear at all until you actually start using it. I'd like to hear *anyone* say they actually understood fully how ED worked before using it or hearing it explained by someone else.